Today Is Not My Birthday

Today is not my birthday, but I feel compelled to mention my last birthday.  It was a turning point for me.

I hate to admit it, but I am one of those people who kinda gets sad on their birthday.  It’s a stupid approach, I know.  But every year, as  January 19th approaches, I start to feel like I should plan an extravaganza.  I brainstorm bars to hold this bday event, think about who I would want to invite, of course, what I should wear, etc.  But, I NEVER actually plan this event!  I felt like some kind of birthday failure for not having anything planned, some kind of party to celebrate the occasion.  This year I decided to take a different approach.  My birthday fell on a Tuesday and I decided to take the entire day off to do whatever I wanted to do.  There is a wonderful art center in Brooklyn, the Textile Arts Center, and as luck would have it, they were offering a morning class in Sashiko on my birthday.  Sashiko is an embroidery practice originating in ancient Japan.  I love crafts as a kid, but that interest has laid dormant in me for years.  I decided the Sashiko class would be a great way to reinvigorate this interest while also doing something for myself on my birthday.  IMG_8268.jpg

                                                                  (my first Sashiko patch)

I had the best time in the class.  The Textile Arts Center is such an inviting space and I felt so relaxed and in joy learning something new.  After the class, I decided to grab some lunch and then do some shoe shopping.  I never go shopping, I don’t treat myself in that way very often.  But I desperately needed a new pair of shoes and especially wanted a pair of black ankle boots.  I went to Macys and had no luck.  I then decided to go to Tani on the Upper West side and found two pair of shoes that I love!

IMG_8255

                            (one of two pairs of shoes I bought, black ankle bootie not shown)

After shoe shopping, I popped on over to a cafe on the UWS that sells crepes and of course had a coffee and nutella crepe.  Then I headed home, cooked some dinner, talked to my mom, watched a movie, and started to call it a night.  I felt so happy with my day.  What I realized was that I did everything that I had wanted to do.  I think in the past I had thought I should have a bar bash because that is what a lot of people do for their birthdays.  I have never been successful at planning that type of birthday party because ultimately that is not what I want to do on my birthday.  Not only did I have a great time on my birthday flying solo, but I also decided I’m having more days like this, not just on my birthday.

 

Leave a Reply

