How Rich People Think (and a Big Surprise)

A little over a year ago, I was seeing a career coach.  We talked about all aspects of my business- the practical, spiritual, and financial.  She felt (and I admit) I had a lacking money mindset and it was showing up in my business.  I was undercharging and taking on jobs that left me physically exhausted.  That is not a fun place to be.  She recommended a few books to me to help amp up my attitude and mindset around money- The Charisma Myth, Money: A Love Story, and How Rich People Think.  I read the first two immediately, but let How Rich People Think sit on my bedside table for months.  Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning out- my closet, papers, and books.  I kept coming across the book and would think, “Maybe I should get rid of this…”  But I hadn’t even really cracked it open and decided I should at least try to read it before donating it.  So a few weeks ago, I was in need of a new book (books are my friends and I love reading) and decided it was time to give How Rich People Think a read.  I threw the book in my purse, feeling it would be a good book to take on my subway commutes.  The next time I was at the subway, I took the book out of my purse and started flipping through it before actually starting to read it.  “Wait, what’s that?”  I had seen something wedged in the pages as I had flipped through the book.  I slowly went back through the pages and was stunned with what I found- pressed between two pages was a crisp 100 dollar bill.  At first I thought it was a hoax.  I took out the bill and looked at it, convinced it wasn’t real, some kind of weird advertisement, I’m not sure what I thought, but I just didn’t feel it could be real.  But the more I looked at it, the more I realized, I had just found a 100 dollar bill in a book entitled How Rich People Think.  I was astounded and of course super excited.  I quickly stashed the bill in my purse, fearful that someone on the subway might have seen my actions!  I told a few people the story and most people had the same reaction, “Wow, how crazy that you found that and how ironic that you found it in a book titled How Rich People Think.”  I felt it was more than irony however.  I have no proof of this other than just a hunch, but I feel like someone purposefully left the bill in the book.  I texted my career coach the story because I knew she would appreciate it.  Her is what she wrote back, “… Shift your mindset to receive and stay open to the possibilities.  Experiment in asking the Universe to send you more ways to receive money.  What do you have to lose…”  I did read the book and had many great takeaways from it besides finding the money of course.  In fact, I’m planning on re-reading it to really let the lessons sink in.  Slowly, I am changing my perceptions around money and finding that 100 dollar bill really gave me a boost.

IMG_8355

(this is the actual $100 I found in How Rich People Think)

41CcnazZyjL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Leave a Reply

